My Thyme Garden

 

 

 

                 My Thyme Garden

My Thyme Garden consists of mostly creeping thyme.  All thyme will flower, but not at the same time.  I planted three small plants of each variety. Thyme grows very fast, and I’ve already had to thin out some of the plants, so they won’t spread into their neighbor. I have found this garden very easy to maintain.

I know you’ve heard this time and time again, but it’s worth the effort to prepare your soil before planting.  You will be rewarded with fast growing, healthy plants.  Thyme must have a well drained site, with plenty of sun. In my zone 6, the foliage can burn in January and February, so I cover with pine boughs in late December, and remove them in early April.

Propagation by cuttings is easy. If you don’t need lots of plants, use your trowel and cut out a large plug, and move it to the new location. This is best done in early spring.

You can step on thyme, but it will not take heavy traffic.

 

  1. Magic Carpet
  2. Lime (Culinary)
  3. Orange Balsam (Culinary)
  4. Latvin Lucy
  5. Bressingham Pink
  6. Minus
  7. Wooley
  8. Lavender
  9. Caraway (Culinary)
  10. Oregano (Culinary)
  11. Elfin
  12. Archers Gold
  13. Golden Lemon (Culinary)
  14. Doone Valley

 

Other great creeping thyme that I have grown are Coconut, Mother of Thyme, Nutmeg, Creeping Red, and Pink Chintz. You can plant the taller thyme(English, French, Silver)behind or on the border of your thyme garden. A great source for plants is Well Sweep Herb Farm, in Port Murray, New Jersey.

 

Yes, the Lime thyme is actually that color. It will start to darken a little by late July, and it has a white flower, with a touch of light pink.

 

 

©.

 

 

 

LP_Thyme1.jpg

One thought on “My Thyme Garden

  1. Hi Cathy,

    I followed you from Gardenweb to here. I am very inspired by your thyme garden. I think I will give that a try next spring. Thank you for sharing.

    Sara
    Shp123 at gardenweb

    Like

Leave a comment